Blue Water Championship

Royal Akarana Yacht Club, Tauranga Yacht & Powerboat Club, and the New Zealand Multihull Yacht Club join forces for the ultimate New Zealand Blue Water Championship.

The PIC Coastal Classic, Akarana 350, Auckland Tauranga (A2T), and Yates Cup are the four races that will make up the 2022/2023 edition of the Blue Water Championships, set to kick off on Friday 21 October.

Entry is free for any yacht or multihull that wants to take part!

Totalling 824 nautical miles, the four-race series will determine which boat and crew are crowned the Blue Water Champions – bringing to the forefront that Kiwi offshore sailors are some of the best in the world. While four races are scheduled, three will count towards the overall result, with the winning crew claiming the Ran Tan II Memorial Blue Water Championship trophy, which was donated by Brian Petersen.

The winner will be the crew who have the lowest total points across their three best races of the four scheduled and will be calculated using PHRF as well as a multihull division. So if you’re an enthusiastic long-haul offshore sailor, then this is the series for you!